Logo GazeMining

Research Project on Analysis and Interpretation of Eye Tracking and Interaction Data on Dynamic Web Content

Learn More

About GazeMining

eye tracking gaze path

Research Project GazeMining

The research project Gaze Mining was initiated by EYEVIDO GmbH and the WeST Institute of the University of Koblenz-Landau. It has a term of 2.5 years and started in January 2018.

The GazeMining project is funded by the program KMU-innovativ.

Logo KMU innovativ

What We Do

The aim of the research project GazeMining is to capture Web sessions semantically and thus obtain a complete picture of visual content, perception and interaction. The log streams of usability tests are evaluated using data mining. The analysis and interpretability of the data collected in this way is made possible by a user-friendly presentation, semi-automatic and automatic analysis procedures.

With our project we want to:

  • Enable usability optimization with eye tracking even on dynamic Web content.
  • Allow more efficient work by usability experts.
  • Enhance the user experience in the Web by enabling easy and complete understanding of user behavior.

Our Research Goals

The Whole Picture of UX

Full recording and advanced storage of subjects' sessions with interaction and eye tracking data.

Comprehension by Data Mining

Processing and evaluation of interaction and eye tracking data and visual content on the basis of data mining.

Intuitive User Interface

User-friendly data processing in an intuitive user interface for visualization and data analysis.

Analysis supported by Algorithms

Support of usability professionals in evaluating the recorded data by automatic data analysis.

Project Description

Project plan GazeMining

Approximately one billion Web pages are operated worldwide that want to address specific target groups and are under competitive pressure. Good usability, i. e. simple comprehensibility and intuitive operation, is essential for making information or goods accessible to visitors. The subject is not only of major importance in marketing and e-commerce. Due to the increasing number of online services offered by government agencies and authorities, usability is also a social issue, as it must also be possible for non-internet-related target groups to use it.

The analysis of eye tracking data, i. e. the eye behavior of users, is employed together with the analysis of interaction data (clicks, mouse movements, typing on the keyboard, scrolling, touch screen interaction) as a meaningful tool to understand user intuition and identify potential for improvement in usability studies. The goal of the research project GazeMining is to capture Web sessions semantically and thus obtain a complete picture of visual content, perception and interaction. The log streams from these usability tests are evaluated using data mining.

The analysis and interpretability of the collected data is made possible by (semi) automatic analysis methods and a user-friendly presentation. The main challenges in this area are the acquisition and analysis of highly dynamic Web page content and a variety of Web technologies and devices. To facilitate the further dissemination of the usability analyses, non-experts will also be enabled to analyze the eye tracking and interaction data. Usability experts of associated partners will accompany the project regarding the subject and will be involved in the development of the system and the evaluation. The market potential of GazeMining is very large, as the online market as well as the awareness of usability and user-centered development processes are constantly growing.


Start of the Research Project

1st January 2018

Definition of usage requirements in collaboration with usability experts

January 2018

Project Partners

Logo EYEVIDO Cloud Eyetracking


Flexible and easy eye tracking in the cloud

The start-up EYEVIDO has developed the cloud software EYEVIDO Lab, with which eye tracking studies can be easily and flexibly implemented.

EYEVIDO Lab precisely records the interactions and gaze and click progressions of test persons and offers a wide range of visualization and evaluation options. The software thus forms a secure basis for rational, targeted and user-centered design optimization. Images, videos and dynamic websites can be optimized.

EYEVIDO GmbH was founded in 2015 and emerged from eyetracking research at the University of Koblenz-Landau. The concept of cloud eye tracking has already won several awards in competitions.

EYEVIDO takes over project coordination. The team focuses on the requirements analysis, the logging of the data and the visualization and exploration of the recorded data.

Logo Institute West

University of Koblenz-Landau, Institute WeST

World-leading research in Web Science

The Institute for Web Science and Technologies (WeST) was founded in October 2009 at the University of Koblenz-Landau and investigates the World Wide Web as the most important IT infrastructure of the 21st century.

We examine the technical aspects of the Web being an open, global and networked system. Moreover, we understand the Web as a socio-technical system and believe that its functioning crucially depends on social, economic and governmental processes. Web Science is the new subject that targets the interdisciplinary understanding and further development of this complex dynamic system.

WeST is mainly responsible for the data mining algorithms and the (semi-) automatic data analysis.


Associated partners

GazeMining is supported by a number of associated partners. They give valuable input to the project goals and evaluated the developed tools. Here a selection or our associated partners:

Logo Markant


MARKANT AG is Europe's largest trading and service cooperation in the food trade with several decades of market experience. MARKANT has been a customer of EYEVIDO since the beginning of 2016 and regularly tests its software products with eye tracking.

Logo GFK


GfK SE, headquartered in Nuremberg, Germany, is the largest German market research institute and currently number five in the industry worldwide. GfK has been working with eye tracking in a wide variety of projects for many years and is very interested in the further development of the technology.

Logo eresult

eresult GmbH

eresult GmbH is one of the leading UX service providers in Germany, active on the market since 2000 and with 32 consultants at 5 locations. eresult has already participated in research projects of the Universities of Hildesheim and Osnabrück.

Logo Deutsche Bank

Deutsche Bank AG

The Digital Factory of Deutsche Bank AG opened in 2016 in Frankfurt to develop the "digital bank of tomorrow". The Customer Lab of Digital Factory has been equipped with an EYEVIDO eye tracking system and is intensively used by the employees for eye tracking and interaction analysis of Web products.


Contact us

You can contact direclty the project partners EYEVIDO or WeST or send us a message:

Logo GazeMining

Forschungsprojekt zur Analyse und Interpretation von Eyetracking- und Interaktionsdaten auf dynamischen Webinhalten

Erfahren Sie mehr

Über GazeMining

eye tracking gaze path

Forschungsprojekt GazeMining

Das Forschungsprojekt Gaze Mining wurde von der EYEVIDO GmbH und dem WeST-Institut der Universität Koblenz-Landau ins Leben gerufen. Es hat eine Laufzeit von 2,5 Jahren und begann im Januar 2018.

GazeMining wird gefördert durch das Programm KMU-innovativ des BMBF.

Logo KMU innovativ

Was wir tun

Ziel des Forschungsprojektes GazeMining ist es, Web-Sessions semantisch zu erfassen und so ein vollständiges Bild von visuellem Inhalt, Wahrnehmung und Interaktion zu erhalten. Die Log-Streams von Usability-Tests werden mittels Data Mining ausgewertet. Die Analyse und Interpretierbarkeit der so gesammelten Daten wird durch eine benutzerfreundliche Darstellung, halbautomatische und automatische Analyseverfahren ermöglicht.

Mit unserem Projekt wollen wir:

  • Usability-Optimierungen mit Eyetracking auch von hoch-dynamischen Web-Inhalten ermöglichen.
  • Usability-Experten effizientes Arbeiten ermöglichen.
  • Die Benutzerfreundlichkeit im Web verbessern, indem einfache ein umfassendes Verständnis des Nutzerverhaltens ermöglicht wird.

Unsere Forschungsziele

Die "ganze Wahrheit“ der User Experience

Vollständige Aufzeichnung und effektive Speicherung der Web-Sessions von Testpersonen mit Interaktions- und Eyetracking-Daten.

Verständnis durch Data Mining

Aufbereitung und Auswertung von Interaktions- und Eyetracking-Daten und visuellen Inhalten auf der Basis von Data Mining.

Intuitive Benutzeroberfläche

Nutzerfreundliche Software zur Visualisierung und Datenanalyse für Usability-Experten.

Algorithmengestützte Analyse

Unterstützung von Usability-Profis bei der Auswertung der aufgezeichneten Daten durch automatische Datenanalyse.


Projekt­beschreibung

Project plan GazeMining

Weltweit werden etwa eine Milliarde Webseiten betrieben, die spezifische Zielgruppen ansprechen möchten und dabei unter Konkurrenzdruck stehen. Eine gute Usability, also einfache Verständlichkeit und intuitive Bedienung ist elementar, um Informationen oder Waren für Besucher zugänglich zu machen. Das Thema ist nicht nur im Marketing und E-Commerce-Bereich von großer Bedeutung. Durch zunehmende Online-Angebote von Ämtern und Behörden ist Usability auch ein Gesellschaftsthema, da auch nicht-internetaffine Zielgruppen die Benutzung ermöglicht werden muss.

Die Analyse von Eyetracking-Daten, also dem Blickverhalten von Nutzern, wird zusammen mit der Analyse von Interaktionsdaten (Klicks, Mausbewegungen, Tippen auf der Tastatur, Scrollen, Berührungen auf einem Touchscreen), als aussagekräftiges Werkzeug eingesetzt, um Benutzerintuition zu verstehen und Verbesserungspotenzial in Usability-Studien zu erkennen. Das Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens GazeMining ist es, Websessions semantisch zu erfassen und damit ein vollumfängliches Bild von visuellem Inhalt, Wahrnehmung und Interaktion zu erlangen. Die Log Streams von diesen Usability-Tests werden mithilfe von Data Mining ausgewertet.

Die Analyse und Interpretierbarkeit der erhobenen Daten wird durch (semi-) automatische Analyseverfahren und eine benutzerfreundliche Darstellung ermöglicht. Herausforderungen liegen hier besonders in der Erfassung und der Analyse hochdynamischer Webseiteninhalte und einer Vielzahl von eingesetzten Webtechnologien und Endgeräten. Um eine weitere Verbreitung der Usability-Analysen zu ermöglichen, soll auch Nicht-Experten der Weg zur Analyse der erkenntnisreichen Eyetracking- und Interaktionsdaten geebnet werden. Usability-Beauftragte der assozierte Partner werden das Projekt inhaltlich begleiten und in die Entwicklung des Systems und die Evaluation einbezogen. Das Marktpotenzial von GazeMining ist sehr groß, da sowohl der Onlinemarkt als auch das Bewusstsein für Usability und nutzerzentrierte Entwicklungsprozesse stetig wachsen.



Meilensteine

Start des Forschungsprojets

01. Januar 2018

Definition der Nutzungsanforderungen in Zusammenarbeit mit Usability-Experten

Januar 2018



Projektpartner

Logo EYEVIDO Cloud Eyetracking

EYEVIDO GmbH

Flexibles und einfaches Eyetracking in der Cloud

Das Start-Up-Unternehmen EYEVIDO hat die Cloud-Software EYEVIDO Lab entwickelt, mit der Eye Tracking-Studien einfach und flexibel umgesetzt werden können.

EYEVIDO Lab erfasst präzise die Interaktionen sowie Blick- und Klickverläufe von Probanden und bietet eine Vielzahl von Visualisierungs- und Auswertungsmöglichkeiten. Die Software bildet damit eine sichere Basis für rationale, zielgerichtete und nutzerzentrierte Designoptimierungen. Bilder, Videos und dynamische Webseiten können optimiert werden.

Die EYEVIDO GmbH wurde 2015 gegründet und ist aus der Eyetracking-Forschung an der Universität Koblenz-Landau hervorgegangen. Das Konzept des Cloud Eye Tracking wurde bereits mehrfach in Wettbewerben ausgezeichnet.

EYEVIDO übernimmt die Projektkoordination. Das Team konzentriert sich auf die Anforderungsanalyse, die Aufzeichnung der Daten und die Visualisierung und Exploration der aufgezeichneten Daten.

www.eyevido.de
Logo Institute West

University of Koblenz-Landau, Institute WeST

World-leading research in Web Science

Das Institute for Web Science und Technologies (WeST) wurde im Oktober 2009 an der Universität Koblenz-Landau gegründet und widmet seine Forschung dem World Wide Web als wichtigste IT-Infrastruktur des 21ten Jahrhunderts.

Wir untersuchen die technischen Aspekte des Webs als offenes, globales und Netzwerk-basiertes System. Weiterhin verstehen wir das Web als soziotechnisches System und glauben, dass seine Funktion abhängig ist von Sozial-, Wirtschafts- und Verwaltungsprozessen. Web Sciene ist ein junges Forschungsfeld, das auf ein interdisziplinäres Verständnis und eine Weiterentwicklung dieses komplexen und dynamischen Systems abzielt.

WeST ist im Rahmen des Projektes hauptsächlich für die Datenauswertung und (semi-) automatische Analyse zuständig.



west.uni-koblenz.de

Assoziierte Partner

GazeMining wird von einer Reihe assoziierter Partner unterstützt. Sie liefern wertvolle Inputs zu den Projektzielen und evaluieren die entwickelten Werkzeuge. Hier eine Auswahl unserer Partner:

Logo Markant

MARKANT AG

Die MARKANT AG ist die größte Handels- und Dienstleistungskooperation im Lebensmittelhandel in Europa mit mehreren Jahrzehnten an Markterfahrung. MARKANT ist seit Anfang 2016 Kunde bei EYEVIDO und teste seine Softwareprodukte regelmäßig mit Eyetracking.


www.markant.de
Logo GFK

GfK SE

Die GfK SE mit Sitz in Nürnberg ist das größte deutsche Marktforschungsinstitut und derzeit weltweit die Nummer fünf der Branche. Die GfK arbeitet seit vielen Jahren mit Eyetracking in unterschiedlichsten Projekten und ist stark an der Weiterentwicklung der Technologie interessiert.

www.gfk.de
Logo eresult

eresult GmbH

Die eresult GmbH ist einer der führenden UX Dienstleister in Deutschland, seit 2000 am Markt und an 5 Standorten mit 32 Beratern tätig. eresult hat sich bereits an Forschungsprojekten der Universitäten Hildesheim und Osnabrück beteiligt.


www.eresult.de
Logo Deutsche Bank

Deutsche Bank AG

Die Digitalfabrik der Deutschen Bank wurde 2016 in Frankfurt eröffnet, um die "digitale Bank von morgen" zu entwickeln. Das Customer Lab der Digitalfabrik ist mit einem EYEVIDO Eyetracking System ausgestattet und wird von den Mitarbeitern intensiv für Eyetracking- und Interaktionsanalyse von Web-Produkten genutzt.

www.db.de

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Kontaktieren Sie direkt die Projektpartner EYEVIDO oder WeST oder senden Sie uns einfach eine Nachricht: